James Tait Black Memorial Prize

19 08 2011

The James Tait Black prize is the oldest prize of its kind in the world. It is also the only one given by a University for works of biography and fiction.

This year’s ceremony was chaired by Sally Magnusson and filmed before a large audience inside the RBS Main Tent.

Hilary Spurling took the biography prize for her work, Burying the Bones, taking to the stage very emotional and admitting it was the achievement that had sparked the tears, but also that, “I became a grandmother earlier today so that might have something to do with too.”

In fiction, the winner was Tatjani Soli for her work, The Lotus Eaters. Promising not to cry, she said: “The lineage of the James Tait Black Prizes speaks for itself, and I am humbled and so proud to be part of it.”




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: